My New Favorite Dinner

Avocado Toast!!!!!!

This is the new thing everyone is obsessed with, or so I hear, sometimes I am under a rock. I LOVE it!! Avocado is the best food ever (but not an entire one at once, I have done that… never again). I am always looking for new ways to incorporate it into my meals and this is just perfect.

IMG_5885.JPG

The top piece is Italian white bread, yes I’m trying to be healthy but I cannot handle wheat bread, baby steps. Then there is a 1/4 of an avocado spread on top. If the avocado is not ripe enough yet it is hard to spread so I just have to slice it really thin and pretend. I top it off with fresh Mozzarella from Uncle Giuseppe’s and ONLY from Uncle Giuseppe’s. It is the best I have ever had, its made on site and is lightly salted. Incredible!

Now I don’t know which piece I like more, cheese or egg. I have tried putting them together and it’s not as good as savoring them each individually. So on the second one we have the Italian bread, 1/4 avocado, and 1 egg. In my house we call this a dunkin egg. I don’t know what it is truly called, maybe over-easy? My favorite part is when I bite in and the yolk oozes everywhere. I put the toast down in the mess and the bread soaks it up. OMG it’s delicious.

I have been eating this for dinner at least 4 times a week. It is not expensive and I can get all the ingredients for around $19 for the week. Dinner for $5 is going to help me so much when I have to go back to school. I also am going to have some big news when I get back to school that I can’t wait to share!

I am hoping to start adding a variety to my toast. California avocado.com suggests bacon which will be a simple addition. Here is an incredible looking recipe that I am dying to try: Mexican Grilled Corn Avocado Toast. It might just be my dinner tonight!
http://www.howsweeteats.com/2015/04/mexican-grilled-corn-avocado-toast/

Leave a Reply

